Republic of the Philipines


Home of the Original Basi

About Naguilian

Brief History

Originally a part of Bauang in the province of Pangasinan, Naguilian derived its name from the Iloko phrase “Nag-ili-an dagiti gan-ganaet” meaning “a place where people from other places come to stay”. It is formed from the Iloko root word “ili” meaning “town” which was later modified as “NAGUILIAN”.

Its separation from Bauang coincided with the centennial celebration of the Catholic Church of Naguilian in 1839. When La Union was created by a Royal Decree in 1850, Naguilian was one of the twelve (12) towns that comprised the province.

The Founding of Naguilian

Due to increasing population density, a group of immigrants drifted to the shore of La Union and began building the town of Bauang at the south of the river and settled thereat. Later, however, due to population explosion, they followed the meander of the river in search of a new territory. They found a fertile valley at the bank of the river, which they called Naguilian. They built a colony at the fork of the two (2) rivers and began developing the territory. They were the first inhabitants of Naguilian.

Ethnic Origin of the People

Records have shown that when the Ilocanos arrived in town, Igorot settlers are already at par. At present, “natives” as the Igorots are popularly called can still be found at the southern and northern parts of the town while majority of the Ilocanos are settled at the lowlands.

The Subdivision of Naguilian

During its establishment as a town, it was believed that a few portions of Burgos and Bagulin were originally a part of Naguilian. These include the lower portion of Burgos known as “Disdis” meaning “a small barrio” and the barangays along the southwestern bank of the Naguilian River (Bagulin portion). “Disdis” was also called “Stancia” by the Spaniards as it served as a pasture ground for their horses while the portion which eventually became a part of Bagulin was predominantly inhabited by the Igorots.

However, during the American Regime, by virtue of a Resolution of the Provincial Government of La Union, Naguilian was divided into three portions namely, that portion which became the town of Naguilian, that portion forming part of Burgos and that portion forming part of Bagulin.

Political Development

The earliest political system used during the Spanish colonial period was the “encomienda” system. Under this system, the native inhabitants in a given geographic region were entrusted to conquistadores, friars and native nobles in exchange for their services to the King. In return, the person granted the encomienda, known as an encomiendero, were given the privilege to collect tribute from its inhabitants and to provide military protection, justice and governance. The encomienda system however was abused by encomienderos and by 1700 was largely replaced by administrative units. With the main purpose of governance and tax collection, small towns or pueblos were ruled by Gobernadorcillos and Capitanes.

The 37 barangays of the Municipality of Naguilian

# Barangay Population
1 Aguioas 934
2 Al-alinao Norte 1,450
3 Al-alinao Sur 982
4 Ambaracao Norte 1,803
5 Ambaracao Sur 1,023
6 Angin 857
7 Balecbec 1,025
8 Bancagan 1,271
9 Baraoas Norte 1,017
10 Baraoas Sur 3,479
11 Bariquir 1,986
12 Bato 1,754
13 Bimmotobot 1,169
14 Cabaritan Norte 553
15 Cabaritan Sur 2,052
16 Casilagan 2,210
17 Dal-lipaoen 1,935
18 Daramuangan 1,200
19 Guesset 1,478
20 Gusing Norte 1,617
21 Gusing Sur 1,622
22 Imelda 1,431
23 Lioac Norte 1,529
24 Lioac Sur 1,434
25 Magungunay 906
26 Mamat-ing Norte 1,136
27 Mamat-ing Sur 1,289
28 Nagsidorisan 1,131
29 Natividad(Pob.) 3,201
30 Ortiz(Pob.) 2,968
31 Ribsuan 1,151
32 San Antonio 915
33 San Isidro 933
34 Sili 1,291
35 Suguidan Norte 893
36 Suguidan Sur 1,044
37 Tuddingan 1,552

SOURCE (Population): Philippine Statistics Authority, May 2015